Ohhhhhhhhh, We’re Halfway There… Second Quarter Reads

Link Round Up

I only read 11 books this quarter (April, May, June), which means that I’m two behind on my goal of 52 books for this year. I’d better catch up! I think my problem was that I only listened to two audiobooks this quarter. In the beginning of the year, I was better about always having one going in the car. It is much more preferable than the radio station surfing that I’ve been up to lately. On the plus side, I finished this post in time to link up with Janssen and Dana! Here’s what I read this quarter:

Still Alice by Lisa Genova

It was scary to be inside the mind of a woman suffering from early-onset Alzheimer’s disease, but I thought it was handled beautifully. And the ending was just perfect. I also watched the movie, and I thought it was cast very well.

Blink: the Power of Thinking Without Thinking by Malcolm Gladwell

Lots of food for thought. Whenever I read a Malcolm Gladwell book, it’s like my husband is reading it too, because I talk his ear off about it.

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Jojo Moyes really has a way of developing beautiful, flawed characters that you want to root for. I loved the story, but I hated the ending. It was really unsatisfying. Maybe it was realistic, but when I read fiction I like for everything to work out in the end.

It Was Me All Along by Andie Mitchell

Memoir of a young women and her struggle with family, food, and finding herself. Sad at times, but it is real life. You can find more about her on her blog Can You Stay for Dinner?

Paper Towns by John Green

I didn’t really “get” this book. The plot seemed very far-fetched. I did enjoy the characters, though, and the road trip was fun to read about. I’ll probably see the movie, but I won’t pay to see it in the theater. I’ll wait for the DVD.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

I don’t enjoy YA novels where the main character is a self-centered brat who thinks his or her parents are idiots. Lara Jean Song Covey is not such a character. She is shy and unsure of herself, and scared to drive instead of being excited to have her license. She reminded me of myself at that age. I really enjoyed this book, and I am looking forward to reading some of Jenny Han’s others.

The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

I’ve read a lot of Sarah Dessen’s books, and although I have enjoyed them all, I don’t absolutely love every single one. I absolutely loved this book. I was upset when it was over. Luckily, I am about halfway through her newest novel Saint Anything, and I am falling similarly head over heals for that one as well.

45 Pounds (More or Less) by Kelly Barson

I read this in an afternoon on our weekend trip to Lancaster. I wouldn’t call it a great book, but it kept my attention. A teenage girl makes peace with her body while trying to lose weight for her aunt’s wedding.

More than Happy: The Wisdom of Amish Parenting by Serena B. Miller

I learned a lot about how Amish families operate. Of course not everything can be put into practice by the average American family, but many of the ideas could. I enjoyed this.

The Guardian by Beverly Lewis

Cute, light-hearted. Great for the beach. I talked more about it here.

P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

I loved visiting these characters again. An enjoyable read.

Join the link-up or read more of the entries here.

Leave a Reply

