Beach Reads

We’re going to the beach on Friday! I’m so excited to be getting away that I have already started packing! One thing that’s always on my packing list is a stack of books to read on the beach. I know some of you prefer your Kindle or iPad, but there’s just something about a stack of books that gets me excited about vacation and all the reading time that I’m going to have. My definition of a good beach read is anything that will hold my attention! I usually stick to fluffier stuff, but I have been known to read a more suspenseful novel (Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn) or something not so light and fluffy (The Fault in our Stars by John Green). Here are the books that I’ll be packing in by beach bag this year:

beach reads

Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen
I’ve read a lot of her books. Most recently I’ve finished The Truth About Forever, and I absolutely loved it. I’ve heard that some of her newer books haven’t been as good as she used to be, but this one is more like her old ones, if that makes sense.

P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han
This is the sequel to To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, which I really enjoyed. I hope this new one is just as good.

Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella
I was looking for a chick lit book to bring along, and this one by the author of the Shopaholic series has gotten decent reviews.

The Guardian by Beverly Lewis
I haven’t read a lot of Amish fiction, but I pick up one every now and then, and I usually enjoy them. This one is not the typical Amish romance novel, but instead is about a young woman who is house-sitting for family in Lancaster when she stumbles upon a lost Amish girl who is about three years old. Since the little girl does not speak English, the young woman must do some searching to discover who the little girl belongs to and why she was left behind.

More than Happy: The Wisdom of Amish Parenting by Serena B. Miller
Noticing a pattern? It’s probably because we just got back from a weekend in Lancaster, but the Amish have always fascinated me, and I enjoy learning more about them and their way of life.

What’s on your summer reading list? Are there any books that you’d recommend for the beach?

One thought on “Beach Reads

  1. Pingback: Ohhhhhhhhh, We’re Halfway There… Second Quarter Reads | 52 Weeks of Books

Leave a Reply

